do anything…

I have a 14 year old and a flight of stairs in my house. The stairs are very steep and my daughter is very helpful. In this way I have been able to go through entire days without even stepping foot upstairs until at least the bedtime shuffle rolls around. Then there is no avoiding it. Because none of my boys like to go to bed I find I end up running up and down those stinking steps about 7 times during the bedtime hours.

Last night I got to thinking about those trips up and down the steps. It’s a nice little burst of movement after a day typically spent writing/schooling/chaffeuring (read: sitting down.) Your situation might differ from mine but since I’m home all day with all of my kids I can’t get out to the gym or even to grab a run as often as I’d like. I CAN make time for it. I just DON’T.

The number one problem we face these days in keeping fit is moving enough. A great percentage of us drive everywhere, order in groceries and shopping and dinners, live on a single level or use our stair masters and treadmills to hang our laundry. For normal people who don’t already have a penchant for daily dedicated exercise routines it is VITAL that we move.

Every

Single

Day

One great idea is to pick up a pedometer and see where you’re starting. Are you moving already and just don’t realize it? Don’t automatically put yourself in my category of “I don’t move enough” because you may be doing MORE than you think!  Keep track this week of how you move, when you move and when you avoid moving. Can you take the steps instead of the elevator (or instead of asking your 14 year old?) Can you walk to the dry cleaner? Can you take three trips to carry in groceries and get your heart rate up a little? Exercise can be fun…aaaaaaand often it isn’t. Stop looking at the “go to the gym for an hour” idea as “working out.”

Your life is your workout. Pay attention to that. Do what you have to do.

{Do you have a suggestion for how you ‘get moving’ in your day? Share it!}

Leave a Reply

